The Last Resort

by

4.00 · 1 ratings · Published: Dec 8th, 2014 {{ book.ratingTitle }}
The trip had been part of Jackie’s grand plan.

Jackie and her boyfriend, the perfect Jack with his handsome looks, wealth and charm, would spend one season working in the slopes. A final blow-out before they finally settled down.

Jack and Jackie, Jackie and Jack. Childhood sweethearts, they would escape their small town and experience the romance of La France.

But at the airport, poised to buy their two tickets, Jack shatters her dreams of the perfect Christmas. He’s been seeing someone else. Not just anyone, their lodger.

With her last ounce of resolve, Jackie boards the plane and sets off on an Alpine adventure of her own.

When she’s not cleaning up fondue, carving the early morning snow, or nursing a Genepi-induced hangover, Jackie tortures herself with the smug Facebook updates of Jack and his new girl.

But as Christmas approaches, Jack is given an ultimatum by his father: settle down or lose your inheritance. His best option? Reliable Jackie, with her grand plans for a steady future.

Will Jack be able to win back Jackie, in time for the New Year?

Can Jackie embrace life as a single girl seasonnaire?

And what of the quiet and mysterious Jacques who is always there to pick her up and dust her down?

It will take a special kind of romance to teach Jackie to let it go...

‘The Last Resort’ is a wickedly funny contemporary romance, set in the snowy slopes of the Alps. It is a festive read that is perfect for fans of Helen Fielding and Wendy Holden.

Praise for Jenny Stallard:

“Hilarious! A sparkling romance which is the perfect Christmas read.” – Holly Kinsella, author of ‘Uptown Girl’.

Jenny Stallard is a freelance writer and editor who worked her way from local newspaper journalism to freelancing for the weekly and monthly women’s magazines. In September 2011 she took herself off to South America, exploring Argentina, Uruguay, Brazil, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia and Chile, fulfilling a lifelong dream to visit Machu Picchu. After all that hard work she took a much-needed break and moved to France to finish the ski season, where she waitressed, taught seasonnaires French and managed to fall over so badly skiing that she cracked a brand new helmet. Thanks to the helmet she is now alive and well enough to enter the world of e-books.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

This book has not been tagged with topics yet.
Add topics


Add relevant topics

Sponsored links

Reviews

Your review · · Edit

{{ book.individualComment.data.text }}
Please give the book a rating as well. Thank you! Post as

Community reviews

  • {{comment.user.username}} rated it {{comment.createdAt | elapsedTime}}
    Reply
    • {{reply.user.username}} {{reply.createdAt | elapsedTime}}
      {{reply.data.text}}
  • {{review.blogger.name}} rated it {{review.published | elapsedTime}}
  • Be the first to leave a review.
Show more reviews