Riders of the Purple Sage: A Zane Grey Six-Pack (Six Western Books)


4.00 · 1 ratings · Published: Nov 16th, 2015 {{ book.ratingTitle }}
• Six western books by Zane Grey are in this Kindle special edition: Riders of the Purple Sage; the sequel The Rainbow Trail; Desert Gold; The Rustlers of Pecos County; The Border Legion; and The Lone Star Ranger

Riders of the Purple Sage (1912)
"Combined adventure, action, violence, crisis, conflict, sentimentalism, and sex in an extremely shrewd mixture." - critic Russell Nye.
Riders of the Purple Sage is the best-selling western novel of all time. It involves Jane Withersteen, who tries to overcome persecution by members of the Mormon Church. Luckily, a man dressed in black rides into town and stops Jane's forced marriage but the course of new love does not run smoothly.

The Rainbow Trail: The Desert Crucible (1915)
The sequel to Riders of the Purple Sage. It is 10 years later. The wall to Surprise Valley has broken. Jane must choose between Lassiter's life and Fay Larkin's marriage to a Mormon.

Desert Gold (1913)
Chet is hunting for a gold mine hidden by Indians. Chief Moya won’t reveal the location however, so Gale and Mortimer are ordered to find the mine and fend off intruders

The Rustlers of Pecos County (1914)
The Texas Rangers try to keep law and order in the chaotic Wild West but one county in particular is feared across the land: Pecos County. That is, until Ranger Vaughn Steel rides into town, vowing revenge. Set in Texas, this is the tale of frontiersmen, ranchers, cowpokes, and outlaws -- and a few helpless women.

The Border Legion (1916)
Hard-hearted Jack Kells falls in love with Miss Joan Randle, a woman his legion took captive near the Idaho state line.

The Lone Star Ranger (1914)
Outlaw Buck Duane tries to redeem himself.

About The Author
Zane Grey (1872 –1939) was known for his American frontier novels and in particular Riders of the Purple Sage (1912). His books were later turned into Hollywood films and he eventually moved to California to be closer to his work in the film industry.

1. Betty Zane Trilogy (1903-1909)
2. Last of the Plainsmen (1908)
3. The Heritage of the Desert (1910)
4. Riders of the Purple Sage (1912)
5. Desert Gold (1913)
6. Light of the Western Stars (1914)
7. The Lone Star Ranger (1914)
8. The Rainbow Trail (1915)
9. The Border Legion (1916)
10. Wildfire (1917)
11. The U.P. Trail (1918)
12. The Desert of Wheat (1919)
13. The Man of the Forest (1920)
14. The Mysterious Rider (1921)
15. To The Last Man (1921)
16. Tales of Lonely Trails (1922)

This book has not been tagged with topics yet.
Add topics

Add relevant topics

Sponsored links


Your review · · Edit

{{ book.individualComment.data.text }}
Please give the book a rating as well. Thank you! Post as

Community reviews

  • {{comment.user.username}} rated it {{comment.createdAt | elapsedTime}}
    • {{reply.user.username}} {{reply.createdAt | elapsedTime}}
  • {{review.blogger.name}} rated it {{review.published | elapsedTime}}
  • Be the first to leave a review.
Show more reviews